As of August 2016, Pennsylvania requires that all children under two must ride in a rear-facing car seat. Pennsylvania law has always required that you have your child in an appropriate car seat, but the change to rear-facing for those under two-years-old, who haven’t outgrown the height and weight requirement of the car seat manufacturer, is new. Non-compliance means you risk a fine up to $125.
The DMV says to follow these guidelines when buying a car seat for your child:
- Children under 4 years old: Use a federally approved child car seat, appropriate for the height and weight of your child.
- 4 to 8 years old: Use a booster seat until your child reaches the height and weight maximum.
- Make sure you follow the manufacturer’s instructions for installation and height/weight restrictions for your car seat.
Here is an image we created to help easily summarize child seat requirements for reference: